Alligator

USA - Georgia - Okefenokee Alligator

 

Alligator
Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge

An American Alligator basks in the Georgia sun at the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge.  This unique wetland ecosystem can be explored via entrances near Folkston, Fargo and Waycross, Georgia

The World of Coca-Cola at Pemberton Place

 

The World of Coca-Cola at Pemberon Place
celebrated its Grand Opening on May 24, 2007.  It’s the only place where you can explore the complete story – past, present and future of the world’s best-known brand.  With 60,000 square feet for you to explore, the World of Coca-Cola features more than 1,200 artifacts from around the world that, until now, have never been displayed to the public before.

Alligator

Alligator

An American Alligator basks in the Georgia sun at the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge.  This unique wetland ecosystem can be explored via entrances near Folkston, Fargo and Waycross, Georgia

King-Tisdell Cottage

King-Tisdell Cottage

514 East Huntington Street

Savannah, Georgia

Dedicated to preservation of Black History and Culture, the museum contains art objects, documents, personal articles and furnishings particular to acoastal African American home (circa 1890).  Open daily.

he King-Tisdell Cottage is an African-American heritage museum named for its African-American owners, Eugene and Sarah King, and Sarah King and Robert Tisdell. This museum of African-American Savannah and the Sea Islands is owned and operated by the King-Tisdell Cottage Foundation, which also owns and operates the Negro Heritage Trail Tours and the Beach Institute on the corner of Price and Harris Streets.

The Foundation and Museum website – click here

Loudermilk Mill

Loudermilk Mill

Clarksville, Georgia

Rolling streams and picturesque settings dot the landscape in scenic Georgia.

Loudermilk Mill on Hazel Creek, just south of Clarksvillle, is on private property and is no longer operating. It was built in the 1850s

Tybee Lighthouse

Tybee Lighthouse

Tybee Island, Georgia

1867 (station established 1736). Active; focal plane 144 ft (44 m); continuous white light. 145 ft (44 m) tapered octagonal brick tower attached to workroom; upper and lower portions painted black, center white. The 1st order Fresnel lens has been in use since 1867.  This light station, the oldest in the South and second oldest in the nation, was established less than four years after the colony of Georgia was founded. The lower section of the lighthouse incorporates 60 ft (18 m) of the 100 ft (31 m) octagonal tower built in 1773. A major restoration in 1998 restored the tower to its original appearance and its black and white 1916 daymark. This is a remarkably well preserved light station with three keeper’s houses and other historic buildings; the restoration of these buildings is continuing. The 1881 principal keeper’s house has been restored recently and furnished as a museum. The second assistant keeper’s house was built in 1861 as a Confederate Army barracks. The brick summer kitchen, built in 1812, is the oldest building preserved. Ownership of the station was transferred to the Tybee Island Historical Society in 2002 under the National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act. The lighthouse is the rear light of a range; the front lightis on a square platform 1/2 mi (800 m) east of the lighthouse. Located on the south side of the Savannah River entrance, off US 80 in Tybee Island.

Gal Pals

Gal Pals

Women’s Friendship and Association
Playground gymnasts, Irwinville, Georgia, 1938
Photo by John Vachon

Previous Older Entries